RSS

Can I be a runner?

08 Jan

  

“It’s not a field of dreams.”
Author unknown.

I have recently had the crazy idea that I could become a runner. HaHaHa! 

Ok stop laughing.

Was that just me?

Or was that my MS?

Oh it was my MS! I downloaded the C25K app like 2 months ago. Of course I didn’t start doing it until this Monday. 

Monday was very rough and discouraging. It started out ok. The first week is a 5 minute warm up walk then 20 minutes of alternating between 60 seconds of running and 90 seconds of walking. Then a 5 minute walk/cool down. Well 10 minutes into the run/walk my left foot started dragging on the floor. Not good grasshopper! So I started adjusting how I was running. I picked my legs up high enough that there was no scraping, I don’t want to fall after all. Then using my knee, I threw my leg forward and tried not to fret about the fact that I was now running flat footed. Shin splints here I come. After 5 more minutes of this I decided that it was time to keep it to a walk. I ended my first day 10 minutes early. So I didn’t even mark it as done on the app.

I’m now thinking a 5k is never going to happen. 😦 How am I going to make it 3+ miles if I can’t even make it 20 minutes of walk/running? 😦

However, I am not one to give up. I figured that if I run with someone who will push me, mentally, not physically, then I might be able to do this. I just need to train different muscles. Fine. I’m just starting anyway. I’ve got this!

So, Wednesday I did day one again, but with my mom. She’s much more athletic than I am and such a huge moral support for me. Love her! 

Now I’m not thinking about the 5k that I want to run in March. I’m just thinking that I want to finish day one! While running I kept thinking about that young high school girl with MS. The track star that ran despite the fact that half way through she couldn’t feel her legs anymore and at the finish line had to fall into her coaches arms. I’m using her as my inspiration. 

Find her story here.

That plus my mom got me through it. I did much better. Knowing from the get go that my MS was going to be a problem helped too. On Monday it was a sad surprise. Wednesday I was armed with how to deal with it. So I managed to have no scrapping feet and I made it the full 30 minutes. Yeah!

Today was the real test. The real “Can I do this?”. I was running on my own. Completing day two of my own volition. No one egging me on. No one holding me accountable. Can I do this? Well the answer to that question is Yes! Yes I can! Granted I have only completed 2 days of this and I have a long way to go. Now I am feeling like it’s possible though. The running through knee high wet sand feeling is going away. I have learned how to not drag my feet. Hell, if I can keep working on these muscles maybe I’ll find a way to get back to heel to toe running again. I’m feeling empowered.

My new thought is that people who run outside must be some of the happiest people in the world. I enjoyed running through the park today. I’m always happier when I’m outside. It’s so easy to forget about the rest of the world. And today running went much better. I am actually looking forward to tomorrow’s run. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2016 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Can I be a runner?

  1. Michelle

    January 9, 2016 at 9:00 am

    Ugh shin splints, I hate them so much!

    I nearly ended my chicness of running every again around this time last year by running through the pain and ended up giving myself a stress fracture, that was last years new years resolution ruined after a month ha.

    I ended up researching a ton of different ways to overcome it and actually came across a great site called http://howtostopshinsplints.com where I learned a million different ways to prevent and treat them so this might help you babe! Good luck!

     
  2. Janet DiFolco

    January 9, 2016 at 9:01 am

    Thanks Michelle! I’ll check that out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
