RSS

Looking For Alaska by: John Green

05 Jan

Review of:

Looking For Alaska

By:

John Green

My review is 2 out of 5.

Why did you pick this book up?

I was made aware that one of the schools in my area was trying to ban this book. Apparently it was inappropriate due to sexual content. Come on! Who wouldn’t run out and read it now? That’s the problem with trying to ban books. It just makes them more desirable. Especially to teens. After reading this I would have to agree that I wouldn’t feel comfortable with my 13 year old boy reading it. It’s not that bad. I’m just a prude and when he learns how things like “blow jobs” happen, I don’t want to know. As his mom I hope that it doesn’t happen until college. But I am not ignorant enough to believe this. I just don’t want to know. However, there are no worries. My son wouldn’t pick this book up in a million years. There are no spies, guns, or fight scenes and there isn’t even a hint at humor.

Does this book keep you engaged?

No. This book is very slow. It took me forever to finish reading it because there was always something better to do than pick it back up.

Did you enjoy the tenor in which this book was written?

No. The tenor in which this book is written kept reminding me of “The Outsiders” by S. E. Hinton. It was depressing. While the ending is supposed to make you feel like there is hope in the future, this book had the opposite effect on my disposition. And that’s before the tragedy.

That said; this book was written very intelligently. I’m not even sure that a lot of middle-schoolers would have been able to follow some of the language that Green used. They would certainly have learned something though. Other than the afore mentioned questionable pieces.

Were the characters and the setting believable within the story line?

Yes. The whole story was entirely believable. Nothing crazy happened. Kids do crazy things. The only thing that I can’t imagine to be realistic is the Eagle. There is no way that that man did not see all of the smoking and drinking that was going on. Also, humanity is not that good. There is no way that in an entire school there is not one person that would rat out another for their own personal gain.

Would you read this book again?

No. I’m pretty sure that this is going to be one of the ones I bring to a used book store and try my luck with another unknown.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2016 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Looking For Alaska by: John Green

  1. Marieke Mills

    January 5, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    Really interesting review. You wrote it down well: banned books make for wanted books. I feel from what you’ve written it sounds like it’s not really that bad. I wonder why it is banned, really. But then again… I’m not a mom 😛

     
  2. Janet DiFolco

    January 5, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    No. It wasn’t that bad. They didn’t ban it. They put a policy in play that makes it so that the children that want to read it have to have signed parental permission. I thought that it was a great compromise. I bet that it is the most desired book to take out of the library now. They made it infamous.

     
  3. bbooksmartblog

    January 5, 2016 at 6:43 pm

    Aw I’m so sad you didn’t enjoy it! I personally adore this book. Well, not every book is for everyone!

     
    • Janet DiFolco

      January 5, 2016 at 6:48 pm

      I appreciate how well this book was written. The subject is just not my cup of tea. 😦 I’m really glad that you liked it. Maybe I’ll try one of Green’s other books.

       

Leave a Reply

 
