RSS

Clash of Kings by: George R. R. Martin

02 Jun

  

Clash of Kings is the thrilling continuation of Martin’s series “A Song of Ice and Fire”. Like in the first book, if you try to assume what is going to happen next you will most likely be wrong. It’s as if Martin sat there and said, oh the logical and expected path would be this…. So….. Let’s do this instead. Not the opposite mind you, just the totally unexpected. 

While reading this series I feel like I am continually in this world. The separate books run so smoothly together it is as if they were one. And this book ended as if you were going to turn the page to the next chapter. I am very happy that I don’t have to wait for Martin to write the next one. I just need to run out and buy it. 

Tyrion Lannister is my favorite character. I love his whit! I keep secretly hoping that he will switch sides and join forces with the Starks. Or maybe side with Daenerys and her dragons. Love her too. Her strength when the world seems against her is impressive. One of my favorite parts of this book was when she went through the Palace of Dust. How many times do people need to try to kill this woman? Talk about having 9 lives. But Tyrion is such a good villain that when I want his side to lose I also want him to win. How can such an awesomely thought out plan fail? I would lose all faith in him. So of course he must win! But at what cost?

Then of course there are Arya Stark and John Snow. Arya is such a spit fire little girl. I really hope that her adventures don’t get her killed any time soon. I love reading about her sneakiness and her water dancing. 

By the end of this book John is set on a new and interesting path. There is now a whole new world that we get to see and be part of. Many times I thought that John had seen his last days. His story line in this book is like reading a scary ghost story. Haha! Pun intended. 🙂

There is of course one story line that drove me up the wall. The whole time I was like WHAT ARE YOU THINKING? I just wanted to jump in the book and shake Theon Grejoy. What an ass! Bran and his band of misfits were too smart for him though. The wolf dreams and ingenuity saved the day again. For a very broken little boy he may yet make a very interesting character. 

I am very interested to see how this progresses. Will these very different worlds collide? I’m assuming so, but when and how? And who will be on what side?

Winter is coming. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 2, 2015 in Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Clash of Kings by: George R. R. Martin

  1. ashley kong

    January 9, 2017 at 3:49 pm

    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
