RSS

Oh is it ever a new year!

24 Jan

So first, unofficial photo shoot under my belt. Weird. I am now a published writer. Ha! (Having nothing to do with the photo shoot, that was all about my husband. This is the life of the wife of a politician.) Ok, so all I did was write an article for our local town paper. But it’s out! It’s in people’s homes! Why, when I know that this blog has the ability to reach the entire world, am I so excited about an article that only reaches the members of my town? I don’t know. It’s something about seeing it in print. Something about seeing a title in a paper followed by my name. I love it!

There have been many other blogs, articles, that have talked about how people with MS’s life is split into two. There is the life that we started with, and then there is life after diagnosis. I have been thinking about this a lot recently. Yes, I am a little too familiar with some doctors now. But in truth, because of my right eye, I have always had issues. So all I’ve really done is add a new specialty. There are now new tests and I no longer have any issues with needles. I miss having issues with needles. I miss needles not being a common place thing in my life.

However, if you knew me before you may not even notice a change. My husband and kids notice a change, but random people that I see, let’s call them friends, probably wouldn’t notice. I myself have finally come to a point where I don’t see it as a before and after scenario. For the first year, ok 2 years, after diagnosis I was convinced that life would never be the same for me again. It didn’t help that I was on Copaxone, that wasn’t working and I had upwards of 9 new lesions at every MRI. But Tysabri has brought me back to life. No new lesions in 3 years. I’ll take it! Sure I still have issues from the previous ones. Those are things that are as of now unfixable. But I’m positive, I have put myself back out there in the world, my family is doing great, it’s a good new year! Now all I need to do is win the lottery so that I can go back to school. 🙂

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
