RSS

A Game of Thrones by: George R. R. Martin

24 May

If you are looking for a runaway train type of book, this is it.

This is one of the best books that I have read in a while.

At first I was very skeptical. I have found that most of these things that gather a following of young people, based off of the show/movie not the book do not hold much interest for me.  Follow that with the fact that in the beginning every chapter is introducing a new character and you have me not wanting to read it. However, many well-meaning people urged me to continue reading.

So, yes, every chapter is written by a different person. This does not hurt the continuity of the story line. If anything, it adds depth. You are seeing the story unfold from many different viewpoints. There were times while reading that I seriously considered skipping a couple of chapters until I got back to say, Dany’s view/story line. Don’t do this. There are things that happen to the other characters while you are away from, said character, that affect that person’s story line as well. If ever reading a book was like watching a movie this one is. It is as if everything is happening in real time and you can’t miss a second. Nobody stands still while the other is moving forward.

There are a couple of different paths that the story is winding down simultaneously, but all seem to meld into each other in a crazy harmonious way. It is baffling to me the different charts that Martin must have had to try to keep everything together.

While reading this book I made the mistake of starting to feel comfortable with the progression of the story. Mentally looking ahead and working out what is probably going to come next. I was always wrong. There were multiple times that I was taken aback. With heartfelt “No that can’t really have happened”. There must be some kind of trick or sorcery or something and in the next chapter we will find that it was just a ruse. It was not. There are other times where I was just gaping in astonishment. I believe that in the last chapter as I finished the last sentence, I actually said out loud “Oh Shit!”. Because people it is that good, and shocking, and you just won’t believe it.

Of course now I can’t wait to read book two. I also plan to watch season one of the tv series. I just hope that it doesn’t ruin the book for me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 24, 2014 in Books

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
