RSS

New Funness

10 Oct

Last night I made a discovery.

It was Wednesday. The craziest day of the week for me. And the kids actually. I now get “I didn’t have any time to play today” from Tyler every Wednesday. It’s only partially my fault that their schedules are crazy that day. And no it’s not sports. Everyone always assumes that if a mom is running around with their kids it must be sports. It’s not. It’s Holiday Play practice and CCD (religious ed.) for 2 kids at 2 separate times. I also squeeze in homework and dinner. It’s fun.

But … Not the point. The point is that I finally got to sit down (not in my car). This is when I noticed that something was different.

I had changed into my PJs, grabbed my coffee, and sat down to watch S.H.I.E.L.D. I felt something on the back of my left leg. Somewhere between ankle and calf level. In hind site I can’t remember what I felt. Was it an itch? I don’t know. But when I pulled my legs up on the couch and ran my hand down my left calf that’s when I noticed it. A hole. Or indentation if you will. It was like I had been resting my leg on a bar and the bar left the indentation. Except there was no bar. I hadn’t been resting my leg on anything. Hell, I hadn’t been resting any part of me at all.

I tried to ignore it and watch the show. Which was pretty good. I didn’t realize that Rich, sitting next to me on the couch, was searching on the internet for the possible cause of the hole. He came up with ” I must have injured my Achilles Tendon.”. I was unsure of this answer. I had absolutely no pain. I don’t remember doing anything that could have possibly injured it. And I had no loss of strength or movement. So then I did a little searching. A lot of people have this happen to their thigh muscle. And that seemed to have reasonable explanations. But when it came to anything below the knee there was much less information. A lot of sights started talking about Edemas, which this is not. Or blood clots, which this is not. Otherwise they said that it could be in issue with your diabetes. They then said, begrudgingly it seemed, if you are not diabetic, which I am not, and it is not one of the above mentioned situations, then…. you may have MS.

REALLY?!?

I had no idea. Maybe I should check with a doctor. SMH!!!!

So I gave up and went to bed. I still wasn’t convinced that this was MS related. My brain is protected after all. Isn’t it?

Well now it’s morning. The area around said indentation is numb. Like a hand sized circle at the bottom of my left leg. Numb like my face was 3 years ago when I was on Copaxone (which wasn’t working). I noticed this in the shower. When water ran down my leg it felt like there was something covering that piece if my leg. Like if you felt water on your hand while wearing a glove. And now I’m thinking about it too much, so there is a constant fuzzy circle there now.

There is no impairment to my walking or anything. This is the same leg that has my other issues. The thumper situation, where my foot will bounce for no apparent reason, and the flipper crap, where I have a hard time flexing my foot when I’m tired. That last one does make walking more entertaining. So I guess a hole and now numbness is just par for the course.

I think that at this point it would be pretty hard to blame it on a non MS situation. But I welcome all thoughts. 🙂 because I am pretty sure that it would take another MRI for the hubby to believe that it is MS related. This feels like an Akum’s Razor type of situation.

Please share any knowledge that you might have about this.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2013 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “New Funness

  1. ERICA

    February 15, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    I am having the same issue, as far as indents-on my lower right leg! But lots of burning, as well. Short of breath, etc. I am headed to a hospital tomorrow as it’s only getting worse. I have 3 of these indents on lower rt leg. Im very sluggish ALL the time and have been for years and feel sick and run down a LOT. Good Luck to you! Im hoping this is not serious

     
    • Janet DiFolco

      February 15, 2014 at 9:00 pm

      Erica that sounds horrible. 😦 have you been diagnosed with MS? They never told me why I had the hole in my leg but it turned out that I had a lesion in the lower part of my spine that was acting up. I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis about 4 years ago. I also have shortness of breath often due to anxiety and fatigue (hate that word) on a regular bases. I hope that everything works out for you. I’m sorry that you are going through this.
      😦

       
  2. Anne

    June 24, 2017 at 7:34 am

    You could have been describing me in your situation. Mine just started 2 days ago. Did you ever find out what it was? Not sure if I should go in or be worried.

     
    • Janet DiFolco

      June 24, 2017 at 8:21 am

      Anne, I did go in. They couldn’t definitively tell me if it was the MS. I was sent for another MRI. No new lesions, but the ones that were already there affecting my left leg and foot were lit up like a Christmas tree. My foot was really weak too. They put me on solumedrol (sp). It got better. The weakness went away. But I have to say that the “hole” still comes back after a long day. And that was a long time ago.

       

Leave a Reply

 
