RSS

Cognitive Dysfunction

09 Apr

I am a fan, or whatever you call it, of the National MS Society on Face Book. I liked their page and so I get updates from them on my news feed multiple times a day. I like this because it keeps me up to date with new meds coming down the pike, blogs by people that have MS that I haven’t read before, articles about homeopathic things that I can do to live a normal life, really just lots of great info. This morning they posted a survey for us MSers to take. It was about cognitive function. I don’t like to think about that being an issue, but I have to admit that it is absolutely my biggest “symptom”.

My biggest problem is that I lose track of time. In kind of a big way. Not in a small way. I always remember the day to day things. Like pick up the kids or hey it’s dinner time and some people need to eat. But the week to week stuff, or worse the month to month stuff is just slipping through the cracks. I didn’t even realize that we were in April. I was going over a schedule with a friend this morning and she’s talking about dates and days and I’m like, no that’s a Tuesday, not a Saturday. That’s when I realized that I was a month behind. UGH!

This is especially frustrating when you are arranging plans for big (well big for me) things. Like next weekend I have a team for an MS walk. Yes I sent out info a month ago but forgot to follow up. I kept thinking to myself, oh I’ve got lots of time. I’ll do it tomorrow when I’m feeling better. Or when I’m not as busy. Although I have to say, I have no idea what I have been busy doing. I just feel like I’m always busy these days. Or I’m not busy, and I just don’t realize that the day has passed me by. I’m counting today by coffee cups. I’ve had three.

Back to the walk. All the sudden it’s next weekend. AH! I’ve raised a quarter of what I did last year. Which is really sad. My husband managed to get the team shirts donated by a very generous company. So that is finally taken care of. Design picked out, shirt sizes figured out and ordered. Why did this all seem so much easier last year? Physically I also have not been preparing. Last year by now I was walking about 6 miles a day. This year I have just started and am having a hard time with 3. Sunday is going to be rough. I certainly won’t be running it like last year. I’m going to have to put my competitiveness in my back pocket and walk with the kids. Yuck! (Love my kids, just love them, don’t want to walk as slow as them though.) So with the realization of how soon it is I sent out my feelers this past weekend. More money is coming in, more people have signed up to walk with me, and like I said the shirts are ordered and should be in Thursday, Friday at the latest. So yeah! That’s done and ready. I just have to deal with the slow walking crap. I’ll live.

Then I realized that I have nothing planned for this summer yet. I haven’t even started planning my Mother’s Day Brunch or Noah’s birthday party. It is very hard for someone who plans the hell out of things to start forgetting to plan things at all.

This is where my iPhone is going to come in handy. It will send me reminders when I need to do things. I just have to not push them back and say, nay I’ll do it later. Because later seems to not be happening. Also I need to remember to put it in my calendar in the first place. I wonder if there’s an app that will just remind me to get my shit together?!?!?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2013 in Life with MS

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
