RSS

Back in the Chair

05 Feb

Fare warning, I am going to talk about my boys and a tiny bit about religion.

(I forgot my ear buds today. : ( well it was sad until I stopped at cvs to pick up a new pair. : ) which was so worth it that this blog might have gone a totally different way. For one thing they work a whole lot better than the ones I was using before. And most importantly the person that just took the chair next to me is having a lengthy conversation with her mother in what sounds like Portuguese. )

My 5 year old, Noah, and henceforth to be referred to as THE BEAR, had a nightmare the other night. He was staying on the couch in my room due to his room momentarily being converted into a guest room. So when he came to my side of the bed, that he had to pass his father to get too, he climbed in without saying a word. I decided to make room for him instead of sending him back to his bed. I figured he’s in our room anyway, might as well. I got restless lying on my left side so I grabbed the bear and rolled with him so that now he was in the middle of the bed. Well halfway through the roll he goes “are you kicking me out?” In the most horrified voice. This is the first thing that he has said since climbing in. My poor little bear! So I reassured him that I wasn’t and he wrapped his entires body around my head like an octopus. He was terrified. After calming him down I asked him what was wrong. He said “I’m seeing things that aren’t real!” In a horrified voice with tears in his eyes.

LoL even now I’m laughing just recalling this. : )

After I stopped laughing and peeled him off of my head enough so that I could breath I explained that he just had a nightmare. Possibly his first since he clearly didn’t know what was happening. He spent the rest of the night glued to my head. Not hugging me like a normal child. Not sleeping next to me just letting me drape my arm around him. But wrapped around my head, knees under my chin, arms wrapped around squeezing my ears. It was not the most comfortable thing in the world. But I’ve never seen my little bear so scared. So I let him stay however made him feel better. When the sun came up in the morning he said “can I get out of this room now?”

I found out later that he was under the impression that there were eye balls on the ceiling staring at him. That is pretty creepy. Poor kid.

The other thing that I wanted to share is about my older one, Tyler.

He is now an alter server at our church. This came up all of his own volition. And to be fair, I always wanted to be one when I was little. I told him that and he said “well then why didn’t you just sign up?”. I had to explain to him that when I was little girls weren’t allowed to do things like that. Talk about making me feel old and deprived as a child.

Anyway, not the point. : )

So we sat upfront to watch him. He is so grown up! Watching him up there, I could not have been a prouder momma. Love that kid! This was, obviously the mind set that I was in. My kid is awesome and now everyone in church can see that. Then the Eucharist part of mass happened. I knew that one of the things that the kids do is wash the priests hands before he touches the host. But to see if happen!!!!!! I had a surge of red hot anger run through me. How dare this measly old man think that he is so much better than my son that he has him washing his hands. How pompous can you be?!?!? It’s possible that I have an eternal hatred for this man for this. It might not have been so bad if he didn’t have this look on this face like “Ugh! A new one that doesn’t know what he’s doing. Stupid kid.” I really hope that that was not what he was thinking, but it was certainly what his face was saying. So So Angry!
Alright, I’ll get over it. And clearly no one else was bothered by this. The anger was just running rampant in my head and the rest of the mass was going on as usual.

I know, it’s clear that I have issues. : )

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2013 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
