RSS

Nightmare

09 Jan

Today I am walking down the hall of Word Presses Prompt of the Day.

At the end of this hall is a door.

Behind that door is my biggest fear.

I’m not really sure that I want to finish going all the way down this hall, let alone open that door.

I can’t even think of what it could be. I know that it’s going to be bad, but what is it?

I’m half way there now.

I’m not afraid of death. I’m afraid of pain, but I don’t know if I’d say that that is my biggest fear. Losing the kids, that has to be it right? I would not be able to live in a world without my kids. So maybe that is what is behind the door. Surely that is worse than say, spiders or snakes. Oh God! What if it’s a room full of fish?!? Gross! Yuck! As shivers run down my spine.

Almost there now.

Oh I hope that that’s not what it is. I really really don’t like fish unless I am eating them. But lets be practical now. They can’t have a room full of fish right? I’d drown before I had a chance to really freak out. And I’m not really afraid of that either.

Oh no. Here it is.

Opening the door slowly, and walking in.

Nothing!

There’s nothing in here. Or let me be clearer, I can’t see anything in here. Wait I can’t see anything at all. Maybe there just isn’t any light. Oh, but there was light in the hall and I didn’t close the door after walking in. I turn around to make sure that it’s still open. Nothing! I reach out my hand to try to find the door, maybe it closed automatically. Nope, there it is, still open.

“Hey what’s wrong?”

I hear from inside the room.

“How do you turn the lights on in here?”

“The lights are on, what are you talking about? Open your eyes.”

Oh crap! My eyes are open! Oh NO!

It’s finally happened. What I have feared in the back of my mind since I was 7 years old. I’ve gone blind. How did I not realize that that was my biggest fear?

Oh My God, please let it come back when I leave this room! Please let it come back!

Panic and Paralysis are seizing my body. Oh No! Oh NO!

I stumble out the door and am blinded by the bright lights. Oh Thank God! I stare down the hall, and then at my beautiful hands. They are so right, once you lose something it is such sweet release to get it back!

I do not like that room!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2013 in the little things

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Nightmare

  1. Tina Jordan

    January 10, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    That’s my biggest MS fear too. Sock me in a wheelchair…whatever…but please, please let me keep my vision…..

     
    • Janet DiFolco

      January 10, 2013 at 8:02 pm

      I feel exactly the same way Tina! Bring on the chair, or cane but leave me my eyes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
