RSS

Updated MRI News

11 Dec

December 2012 infusion down. I got the results from my most recent MRI. I guess it’s good news. I now have concrete proof that it is the MS that is making my left hand so tired. Possibly the reason for my left foot as well. I have a hard time believing that one though. How can one lesion effect both a foot and a hand? They are on the same side of the body,maybe that is why. It seems like more research is needed for me to figure it out.

If I haven’t made it obvious already, there is another plaque. Not new, just the first time that we are seeing it. They said that it is no longer active, but the damage is done and visible. Yeah! Just what I wanted to hear.

Turns out that Tysabri does not completely seal your blood-brain barrier. It only mostly seals it. So some of your immune system can still get in. And with just this some coming through I am still getting lesions, which is freaking me out.

I am taking solace in the fact that all my pieces are still moving. Some times sluggishly, but not numb. I am not happy about the brain fogginess though. It was so bad the other day that I forgot how to turn on the windshield wipers in my Jeep. Something that is second nature for me, and I couldn’t figure it out! I probably should have taken that as a big neon sign saying “You Shouldn’t be Driving!” But I didn’t.

One of my childhood neighbors passed away Friday. He was the one that also had MS. It is really sad that he is gone but I have to wonder if it is better for him and his wife, who was also his caregiver. He’s not in pain anymore. Unfortunately his MS was so bad that he could barely move. Alyssa, his wife, said that he is probably running around in heaven right now. I hope that she is right. I couldn’t help but see a little relief in her eyes. It can’t be easy to have to care for someone that you love so dearly who is so incapable of doing anything themselves and because of that is in so much emotional pain.

Total side note;
Not that I don’t think that it is awesome that there are children that have kicked Cancer’s butt, but every time I see one of those little kids holding up a sign I want to post a picture of me holding up a sign saying that my MRI shows that I still have MS activity.

I know, I know, that’s mean spirited. I’m just so sick of it already!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2012 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
