RSS

The Count Down Begins

25 Oct

12 Days.

Only 12 Days until elections.

Yeah!

On the political front:

I have been telling Rich for weeks that I don’t want his campaign to get nasty. No mudslinging or whatever you want to call it. They have shown me mailers that they have ready to send out. Some of which were personal attacks some that were just facts about what the other side has previously voted on, or who their affiliations are with. All of which I told them was unnecessary. Please keep it clean. And whether or not it is because they were listening to me, they were keeping it clean. Just holding on to those not so nice (actually they are pretty nasty) pieces of paper. I also believe that his campaign is overly well funded which is making all of these things possible. Last year there was none of this.

Well, all of that said, yesterday the other side sent out a nasty mailer of their own. I guess that politics will be politics. It really annoys me that while Rich is on a slate with 2 other people the whole letter was about him. I know that I get seriously riled up when he gets attacked, but I feel I have a right to. I could go on and on here sticking up for him and explaining how wrong the mailer that was sent out was, but I’m taking a higher road. HA! No not really. I finally agreed with the political machine that has become my husband’s campaign group and said yes “Release the Hounds!” So one of ours is going out today. 🙂 This is what happens when you start crap. We were ready and waiting and now it has begun.

Only 12 Days!

On the “single” mom front:

I cannot wait for this to be over. My hat is off to all of the single parents of the world. I don’t know how you do it. The other day my mom came over and started pointing things out to me. I’m sure what most moms normally point out to their children, but my mom and I have a better relationship then that so I was surprised. She walked in and immediately it was “Why are the cushions still out side?” “Is that an empty beer bottle on the play set?” There were other things inside too but I can’t remember them. So I said to her “Mom are you going to complain about everything?”. That stopped her short. I don’t think she realized that she was doing it. So we went out to lunch and what not and when we got back home she says, as if she had really been thinking about it, “You know Janet, it’s just that I expect better from you. You are usually on top of taking care of your belongings and cleaning things up.” She was absolutely right. While I am far from a neat freak, I like my stuff to always feel like it’s new. So I clean up after myself, my kids and my husband who likes to do things like leave empty beer bottles on the play set from when he was mowing the lawn. So I said “You know mom, I’ve just been really tired. And I just don’t care.” I explained to her that I’ve actually been starting to worry about how tired I have been recently and that I may mention it to the Doc at my next appointment. And then she reminded me that I have been doing everything on my own for the last couple of months. I didn’t have anybody to cook dinners, or tuck the kids into bed, or help me out with the everyday crap that you have to do when you own a house. I hadn’t thought of that. For some reason that makes things make more sense. But honestly, I don’t have a full time job. Besides the mom/wife stuff, I don’t have to go to work every day and make money so that we can have a roof over our heads and eat every day. I really am in awe of people who can do it all. I swear that my kids and I would be homeless and naked. 😦 So I am very happy that it is only 12 more days. I am probably too confident that Rich is going to win. So that celebratory Champaign bottle in my frig is going to be very much enjoyed at the end of this.

Here’s to all of the people who vote for my husband in our town so that I don’t have to do this again in 2 years!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 25, 2012 in Life with MS

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
