RSS

Vertigo

08 Mar

Ah vertigo, how you make my life so interesting!

This is an ongoing symptom for me. It gets much worse when I’m tired, but it is always there. People watching me sometimes must really think that I’ve lost it. It is not uncommon to see me grab onto the nearest item for balance. It’s embarrassing when that nearest item is a person. But that is rare, thank goodness. There are a lot of walls in this world. ๐Ÿ™‚ And if there is one close I will just fall into it for support. This also can sometimes be embarrassing. For instance when I am dropping Noah off at school and canโ€™t walk in a straight line and fall into the wall. That only happened once, but still embarrassing.

For anyone that has never experienced vertigo, I have a perfect comparison. If you have ever spent a long time on a boat, I’m talking days, like a cruise, and then you go onto dry land. That’s how it feels. Not exactly like it does when you are on the boat. Because when you are there you are expecting the movement. Your body makes adjustments. Your brain makes adjustments. But once you are on land you are still making those same adjustments, only the ground is not moving. And this comes as a shock to you over and over again. That is my life on a day to day basis. I keep waiting for my body to adjust to dry land or my time to get back on the boat so that things are normal again.

I am very curious to see (or feel) what this will be like while actually on a boat. ๐Ÿ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in Life with MS

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
