RSS

Roots

02 Mar

I know that what I should be writing about right now is my last infusion, but I’m not. I took notes while I was there so that I would remember the things that I want to say about it. So I promise that’s coming. Also, this month’s porch picture is amazing and I really want to write about that too. I’m making a mental list. Because what I really want to talk about right now is Roots.

I finally have Roots! I no longer feel like my “home town” is the only place that I belong. Sure this has a lot to do with the fact that Rich is actually part of the local government. But it’s more than that. When we go to our favorite local diner we always run into someone we know. Conveniently we also know the owner who has ties to the MS world. (I swear it’s like joining a club) Talk about small town though. Never in my wildest imaginings did I think that I would live in a town where literally “everybody knows your name”. It’s a little weird and it’s a good thing that we don’t have any secrets. But I am starting to make friends. I haven’t done that since college. My thought has been well, why bother, I’ll just be moving again soon. I seem to be here for the foreseeable future though. My kids are making friends that they are going to get to grow up with like I did. And hopefully Rich and I will (are actually) make friends that have a similar impact on us. It’s very exciting and I am very happy. For the first time since my diagnosis, (for a couple weeks now actually) MS isn’t the only thing that I’m thinking about. Or the politics. Which I now spend a good deal of energy trying to avoid. Sometimes ignorance really is bliss. I know that Rich is out there fighting the battles so I am going to take solice in that knowledge and stop getting so upset about things. He is much better about compartmentalizing these things than I am. I end up getting angry about something and it leaks into all aspects of my life. Not unlike how I get when I am reading a book that makes me mad. They should have classes on how to compartmentalize feelings, or how to keep perspective.

So that’s it. Those are my musings for right now. Screw MS! There are more important things going on around here!

*side note* I am finding it funny that everyone I have met recently has the same name. My new friend from Noah’s school is Becky, My new friend from my infusions is Becky, and my trainer at the gym’s name is Becky. What are the odds? Not to mention the Jasons and Richards. Parents need to be more creative!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2012 in Life with MS

 

Leave a Reply

 
