RSS

Migraines

16 Feb

Well it happened. I guess that it was my one for February. At least I am hoping that it was my ONE for February. Yes, I had another Migraine. What’s funny about it is that Rich stayed home sick from work yesterday and I ended up being the sick one. Poor guy can’t catch a break.

I took my first dose of Imitrex. I was supposed to take it at the onset of the migraine, but that didn’t happen. Yesterday was a very cloudy day, you know the kind of day when the sky feels so close you could reach up and grab it? So I assumed that the headache was a pressure situation. I took an Ibuprofen expecting it to go away. I went out and did my morning ritual of dropping the kids off and what not plus taking Rich to the docs. By the time we got home I could feel my pulse throbbing in my head and I was nauseous as hell. So I grabbed my prescription for Imitrex and headed out to CVS. Picked up Noah, got my drugs and went home. I popped the pill at 11:30. I had to note the time because the doc said that if the migraine wasn’t completely gone in 2 hours that I should take another one. Well I tried to sleep for those two hours. Didn’t work. My head was still pounding at 1:30. SO I took another one. It took until 2:30 for me to even be able to get out of bed. Does this mean that the Imitrex didn’t work? I don’t know. It certainly did not work as well as I would like it to. Around 5 my head felt perfectly fine. I was totally drained, probably because of the drugs, but not in pain. So with the knowledge that these headaches don’t usually go away until the next evening, I guess it worked. I would have just appreciated not having to go through the hours of pain after taking the drug. Maybe I’m asking too much?!? Or maybe it was because I didn’t take it at the onset? I guess we’ll find out next month. 😦

Tonight is political fire storm number 2 for the week. Oh Joy! Rich lost a couple of voters on Monday night with his opinions, maybe he’ll win them back tonight? You can’t please everyone all the time right?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
