RSS

I survived!

06 Dec

First infusion down. The only complication was that the RN that did my drip left a bruise. Makes me sad. Also it took 3 hours, not 2. Now I have scheduling problems. So for people thinking about Tysabri infusions, a quick walk through.

The room was nice. Yes you can bring snacks and drinks. I brought a venti gingerbread latte. MMMMM!!!!!! I decided that I deserved that today. So did my mom, she treated. I brought her too. They referred to her as my cheerleader. 🙂 I got to sit in a big comfy black leather recliner. There were about seven other chairs in the room, and yes they were all full. Every chair gets it’s own flat screen t.v.. I didn’t turn that on, so I don’t know what types of channels that got. There was an extra chair for a guest with each recliner, not as nice, but still a place to sit. Where I felt that they could have improved; they could have added a kurig, like they had in the waiting room, and free WyFy would have been nice. I know I ask too much sometimes. I just figure if I am spending $800 a visit (not including the drug), there should be some creature comforts. There were muffins and cookies though. I didn’t eat any of those, but it was nice that they were there. First thing that they did was check my vitals. (temp and blood pressure) Then they put in the IV. Then they called the lab and told them to mix my medication. I didn’t realize that the medication required mixing, that made me feel like I hadn’t done enough research, but maybe I just forgot. That took about 15 minutes. Before they gave me the infusion, they gave me a Claritin to “ward off” an allergic reaction. When my medication came up from the lab they hooked it up to my IV and I was off to the races. Or for a nap, depends on what you want to do I guess. 2 of the other people in the room were sleeping. One brought a portable DVD player and was watching a movie with headphones. One was watching the news on TV. I played with my iPhone and talked to my mom. A definite must to bring was a blanket. I thought that it was a little odd, cute, but odd that I got a box in the mail with a blanket and carrying tote from Biogen after I was officially signed up. Well today I realized how vital those pieces were. Not only did I use the blanket, but I stole my mom’s sweatshirt. I was freezing. The Tysabri drip took an hour, and then they switched it out for a bag of saline that took a half hour to drip. After that they checked my blood pressure again and made me stay for another 15-20 minutes to make sure that I didn’t have any bad reactions. Then I set up my next appointment and off I went.

All in all everything went very smoothly. My biggest problem now is scheduling. The infusion center is only open during the day on weekdays. So I am going to have to ask for help with the kids. I hate that, but there doesn’t seem to be any way around it. And taking Noah out of school one day a month is unacceptable. 😦

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 6, 2011 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
