RSS

The Decision

30 Oct

There is an enemy among us. We first noticed it a year ago. They are growing in numbers and destroying our defenses. We tried to get them to change their ways and come back into the fold. They refused. I think, no I demand, as the queen of this domain that we need to take stronger action against them. I have decided that it is time to pull up the drawbridge. I’m not sure how we will weed out the ones that are already here, but they will be scared. There is no help coming from the outside now. They are all alone…… The citizens of this fair land can now rest easy knowing that the walls are now impenetrable.

 

I have decided to go on Tysabri. Yeah! JCV I dare you to show your ugly face! I’m ready!

I can’t wait to feel “normal” again. I just started the paperwork and hopefully it will all be processed rapidly and I can start as soon as possible. I did a healthy amount of research on both Gilenya and Tysabri. And while they both seem to be decent drugs when it comes to less lesions on your MRIs and less symptoms, Tysabri does seem to come out on top. However that is not why I made my decision. Oddly enough, being the sceptic about side effects that I am, you can’t even blame that for my decision. It was the actual effects of the drugs that scared me. As far as I was concerned, my decisions were instant death or slow horrible sick all the time because I have no immune system death. What made me decide to choose Tysabri is the fact that while on this drug I will be constantly monitored. The infusion center that I am using, actually it helps that I joined a study, does blood tests every time that you have an infusion. The study that I joined is about the blood tests. They are monitoring people’s reactions to Tysabri. Right now the research is very promising for me. It says that 0% of people who have come back negative for the JC virus have had any problems with it within the first year. It also says that .03% had a problem with the JC virus who were tested positive for it in the beginning. Again that is all within the first year on Tysabri. My blood test just came back negative for the JC virus. Yeah! I am very confident about taking this drug, at least for the first year. Who knows, maybe in year something new and less life threatening will come out. The drugs for MS management have been coming down the pipeline pretty quick within the last couple of years. I am feeling very confident about my future right now. Which is not an easy thing to talk yourself into, especially since every MRI I have shows more lesions. 😦 Hopefully that is all about to change.

Right now I am looking forward to a Christmas where I am not depressed and I have energy to run around with the kids like I used to. Also if the dizziness went away and I could enjoy a spiked eggnog without getting sick, I would really appreciate that too.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2011 in Life with MS

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
