RSS

Objects in Motion Stay in Motion

18 May

Just a little bit of physics. : )

I am apparently ridiculously out of shape. This was knowledge that I was already privy to, I was just in denial. I had exercised a couple of times a few months ago, but due to the nausea and my own laziness, I stopped. Well I am trying again. I took a slightly more sensible approach though. Last time I was doing things I hate. It was a Jillian Michaels CD, which was not terribly hard but wow did you feel it afterwards. But it was exercise for exercise’s sake. Which is very un-motivating. So I tried to think of something that I would actually like to do. Well I love going for hikes in the park. Unfortunately that is not always an option that is available to me. Then I remembered that while I was at college I used to walk 7 miles a day. That was something that I loved doing. Of course it helped that the better part of that walk was along the beach. : ) Then a plan started to take shape in my head. And yes these are all my ways of procrastinating. Which I am VERY good at.

Next year my little one starts school. Which I thought made for the perfect time for me to go back to school. Unfortunately Preschool has changed back to a half day schedule, which is only 2.5 hours. Unfortunately that does not leave me enough Me Time to have a class and do all my work for it. Now I am pushing school for me off yet another year. Which is fine, I’m not in a rush, I’ll get there eventually. However now I have some free time on my hands. Or rather next year I will. I decided that that would be the perfect time for me to just go on long meandering walks like I used to.

Thanks to my procrastination tendencies being imbedded in my brain, it took me a couple of days to realize that I could start this now. I would still like it to be me time though so I had to come up with a way to make that work. Rich likes to get up early in the morning and go running and I am always too burned out at night to do it then. So I struck a bargain with Rich. We would alternate mornings. That way neither of us has to take the kids, who turn walks into exploration adventures. Which is fine, but not exactly what I was going for.

So to end my long story about walking. J This morning was my first foray into exercising that I actually enjoy and hopefully will stick with. And the reason that I am now painfully aware of how out of shape I am is because half way through my thighs started to feel like blocks of cement. Also, and unfortunately, the boat started to rock a little again. I am not going to let that deter me though. The walk was beautiful. I may not have a beach anymore, but I have a rather large lake with swans and a really pretty historic town. I am actually looking forward to Fridays walk.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2011 in Life with MS

 

Leave a Reply

 
