RSS

Ah New Things

17 Mar

Alright so I decided to try something new today. Not new to me, Janet the outgoing, wonderful, funny, engaging young woman, but me the MS patient. I exercised this morning. I have been avoiding it. And when I wasn’t avoiding it I was just being lazy. I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to stay in an upright position. Balance issues and what not. But I decided that it was time to bite the bullet and was not really surprised with the results. Of course we hit rough seas. My legs felt like Jello, but I think that has more to do with the 8 months of inactivity. However, what I was surprised about was the onslaught of nausea. I hate being nauseous. I avoid drinking too much and getting pregnant for this reason. 🙂  I am determined to not let these things hold me back though. There are numerous articles online about exercising when you have MS. Everything says that you will be able to handle more with time. Just work up to it. Which is what I think most people get as advice when starting to work out, so no I am not special. But I am taking it. Hopefully next time won’t make me want to take a nap for the rest of the day. We shall see.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Life with MS

 

One response to “Ah New Things

  1. Susanne

    April 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I don’t get along with exercise either. Last time I tried anything aerobic, my l’hermetes symptoms came back for two weeks. Although I do have this grand plan to run a marathon some time in my life. I had originally planned it for my birthday in September, but I haven’t even started training. Maybe next year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
