RSS

Surprising Help

18 Nov

I have read a lot of things talking about how great Yoga and Meditation are for MS patients. Mainly because they help to eliminate stress. Which is all well and good and yes I believe that it eliminates stress. However, I saw this as a long term, maybe it will help with my symptoms if stress is really what is aggravating them kind of thing.

So with all of that in mind my sister-in-law set up a personal yoga session for me. (It was really help for a report that she is doing for school, but I think it might have helped me more.) The session was only about a half hour long. I wasn’t sure how it was going to go b/c I was having some serious problems. I have this head cold, so I felt like I was on a ship again and my inability to look to my right had started rearing it’s ugly head. I figured that Yoga poses were not really in the cards for me that day. But I talked to the instructor about it and she said that we would be doing simple poses and it would be more about breathing. So on to the mats we went for a half hour of breathing and simple poses. I didn’t hold any stock in this helping my symptoms at all. Yeah it felt good and my back really needed the stretch, but did it help my symptoms, or am I going to have to do this every day to see any results?

Then I stood up. The world had stopped moving. Looking to the right was no longer an issue. It was like my miracle drug. I couldn’t believe it.

I can’t stress enough that I think that anyone with MS should try this. I was skeptical at first but what a wonderful surprise. Of course I was right about the everyday thing though. Or at least whenever your symptoms flair up. Like with a cold, or a stressful day. Because the effects only last for that day.  I woke up the next morning with the same problems. So I have decided to start doing this regularly. At least until the boat docks and I can get off.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2010 in Life with MS

 

Leave a Reply

 
