RSS

Brushing your teeth, washing your hair, and other normal routines…

27 Sep

They told me that giving myself a shot every day would become second nature. Like brushing my teeth in the morning. I didn’t believe them. Then yesterday happened.

My husband and kids were already in the car so I was rushing to get out the door. I stopped at the counter to pick up my keys and something triggered my memory. “Shoot! Shoot! Shoot!” (It wasn’t actually that G rated.) I forgot to give myself my shot this morning. So I dropped everything and ran back upstairs. Threw my shot together, stabbed myself in the arm, grabbed an icepack from the freezer (for the inevitable 15 to 20 minutes of pain) and finally out the door I went.

Of course I was very proud of the fact that it seemed like it was nothing. But on top of that, I usually can’t give myself my arm shot. The stupid autoject device requires the use of two hands. I haven’t built up the courage to give myself the shot without the device. However, I had managed to do it myself. It takes a certain kind of skill to be able to do it one handed. You have to hold it up to the bottom of your arm, push the two pieces of the device together to deactivate the safety, but at the same time not push the device into your skin (that gives you a black and blue) and then press the button on top in order to release the shot. I know it’s a process.

Now if I could just find a way to make it stop hurting afterwards then it might be like second nature. But I still pause a second every time with the knowledge that the ice pack sitting next to me is about to be my life line.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2010 in Life with MS

 

Leave a Reply

 
